image

Mesut Ozil have revealed that he won’t sign a new contract except he receives assurance of Arsene Wenger’s contract extension.

The Arsenal playmaker have but 18 months left on his present contract and have been locked in negotiations with the North London club.

In an interview with German football magazine, Kicker, he said: “I am very, very happy at Arsenal and have let the club know that I would be ready to sign a new contract. The fans want that I stay and now it is just down to the club.”

“The club knows that I am here most of all because of Arsène Wenger. He is the one who signed me and he is the one whose trust I have. The club also knows that I want to be clear what the manager is going to [in the future],” he added.

The former Real Madrid player arrived at the Emirates Stadium in 2013 and has gone on to win the hearts of the fans.

Wenger’s contract runs out in 2017.

